Main content

Welcome to the New OMEL Website

OMEL was established in 2010 to develop and investigate optical materials that exhibit new physical phenomena.

Latest News


Eggenberger Award for Stephan Kress

February, 2017. Stephan Kress receives the Hans-Eggenberger-Prize for his dissertation on the control of light at nanoscales. The annual award, endowed with CHF 100,000, is given to outstanding young scientists who are primarily active in the interdisciplinary application of electronics and electrical energy technology.

With current optical methods such as glass lenses light cannot be controlled on nanoscales since they are constrained by the diffraction limit of light. However, it is possible to circumvent this limit with metal-based plasmonic structures. In his thesis "Quantum Dot Plasmonic Waveguides, Resonators and Spasers" at the Optical Materials Engineering Laboratory of Prof. David Norris, Dr. Stephan Kress developed a quantum dot spaser, a novel type of laser capable of breaking the diffraction limit and generating nanoscale light.

Kress will use the prize money to continue his research at Harvard University. Its goal is to develop rewritable metasurface optics in the mid-infrared range. He would like to improve the understanding of light on the nanoscale and potentially revolutionize mid-infrared optics which among others are used to analyze the gases in our atmosphere.


OMEL Welcomes Ms. Dr. Ann-Katrin U. Michel

February, 2017. OMEL welcomes Ms. Ann-Katrin Michel as a new postdoctoral researcher. Ann-Katrin obtained her PhD degree from RWTH Aachen University, Germany, in December 2016. She wrote her PhD thesis, entitled "Tuning of nanoantenna resonances in the mid-infrared spectral range by using phase-change materials" under the supervision of Prof. Thomas Taubner and Prof. Matthias Wuttig.


OMEL Welcomes Aniket Sandip Mule

January, 2017. OMEL welcomes Aniket Sandip Mule as a new Ph.D. student. Aniket recently graduated with his Master's degree in Process Engineering from ETH Zurich. He completed his Master's thesis, entitled "Synthesis of CdSe Nanoplatelets using New Selenium Precursors" at OMEL under the supervision of Prof. David J. Norris in Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering (D-MAVT) at ETH Zurich.

Lab tour with high school students

December, 2016. The Ladies in Mechanical and Electrical Studies association of AMIV ( organized an information day for female high school students from all over Switzerland. People from OMEL showed our labs and presented demonstration experiments to the students.


stephan kress

Congratulations to Dr. Stephan J. Kress for winning the Silver Medal of ETH Zurich

November, 2016. Congratulations to Stephan Kress for receiving the ETH Medal for his outstanding doctoral thesis. This award is reserved for the top 8% of dissertations at ETH Zurich.



Recent Publications

template-stripping method

Direct Patterning of Colloidal Quantum-Dot Thin Films for Enhanced and Spectrally Selective Out-Coupling of Emission

Ferry Prins, David K. Kim, Jian Cui, Eva De Leo, Leo L. Spiegel, Kevin M. McPeak and David J. Norris

Nano Letters,(2017),17 (3): 1319–1325

An intrinsic growth instability in isotropic materials leads to quasi-two-dimensional nanoplatelets

An intrinsic growth instability in isotropic materials leads to quasi-two-dimensional nanoplatelets A. Riedinger, F. D. Ott , A. Mule, S. Mazzotti , P. N. Knüsel , S. J. P. Kress, F. Prins, S. C. Erwin,  D. J. Norris

Nature Materials, Published Online 3rd April 2017.


Optical Chirality Flux

Optical Chirality Flux as a Useful Far-Field Probe of Chiral Near Fields

Lisa V. Poulikakos, Philipp Gutsche, Kevin M. McPeak, Sven Burger, Jens Niegemann, Christian Hafner and David J. Norris

ACS Photonics, 2016, 3 (9), pp 1619–1625



Wedge Waveguides and Resonators for Quantum Plasmonics

S. J. Kress, F. V. Antolinez, P. Richner, S. V. Jayanti, D. K. Kim,F. Prins, A. Riedinger, M. P. Fischer, S. Meyer, K. M. McPeak, D. Poulikakos, D. J. Norris

Nano Letters, 15.9 (2015): 6267-6275


Page URL:
Thu May 25 23:34:54 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich